Anxiety

I have a love-hate relationship with anxiety.

Anxiety has molded who I am today, for better and worse. My life would have been much simpler when I was younger to live without anxiety, because honestly it wasn’t needed. It made my childhood a very unhappy one, for no reason. I’ve always been very aware of myself, and my physical reactions to situations were powerful- so powerful that they became inhibiting. It made it very difficult to make friendships and I clung to the ones I did make. I didn’t realize what was wrong until I started dating and would have meltdowns from the stress or would be terribly embarrassed and not know why. I found out that I had social anxiety. I did years of therapy, and I can honestly say.. my anxiety is a part of me. It’s always going to be there, however now that I understand it, I can use it to my advantage. I use my anxiety as a prompt, motivation, to do everything the best I can. I use it to motivate me to make friendships- although I do still feel nervous sometimes. I am learning the art of social interaction, and how to make deep friendships with people I trust. I still keep most of my thoughts to myself, but I am learning to share. Sharing is a powerful tool when it comes to overcoming social anxiety and not letting it overcome you. Harnessing the power of anxiety and manipulating it to your betterment is a skill, and it is not an easy one to master. I am far from mastering my anxiety, but I don’t see it as an invisible monster anymore. I can recognize it’s face, and often can understand the cause and fallacy of the thoughts.

Pressure may make stone crumble, but it can also turn them into solid diamonds.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

